Upcoming Events

Two events next weekend for the club on and off of the road. On Friday 4th September there will be a mass to remember the fiftieth anniversary of the death of John Drumm. This mass will be in Cordal church at 7.30pm with refreshments in Hughes Bar afterwards. On Sunday 6th September the annual club’s leisure tour in aid of the Day Care centre will take place starting at 10am sharp. Registration is from 9am at the Day Care Centre and there are routes from 15k to 80k available to accommodate all levels of cyclist.

Kerry County Championships 2015

Hosted by Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club on Saturday August 22nd

Sign On: Next to Gneeveguilla PO from 10:00am 6.8k circuit same as used for County League

U16 Starts at 11:00 – 4 laps, U14 Starts @ 11:05 – 3 laps

U12 Starts @ 11:10 – 2 laps Seniors Starts @ 11:45 – 9 laps

Medals for category’s are as follows: 1st 2nd 3rd for Overall, A1, A2, A3, A4, Ladies, juniors, Over 40’s, Over 50’s, U16’s, U14’s & U12’s.

Team prize is for 1st only, counting first 3 riders, riders don’t have to be declared beforehand.

Prize giving for championships and county league and refreshments to follow senior race in Gneeveguilla Gaa Club Bar

Full Competition License Required, no one day licenses available, Rider from Kerry or riding on a Kerry team is eligible. €10 for adults, €5 for underage

County League Currow Results

Under 12

  1. Patrick Galvin – Killarney CC
  2. Ronan Leahy – Kanturk CC
  3. Shane Galvin – Killarney CC
  4. Aona O Shea – Killorglin CC
  5. Ethan Slattery – Killarney CC
  6. Lorcan Daly – Killarney CC

Under 14

  1. Kieran Coggin – Kingdom CC
  2. Eoghan Patwell – Killarney CC
  3. Sean Barrett – Ibike
  4. Robert Scott – Kingdom CC
  5. Tadhg O Shea – Killorglin CC
  6. Tiarnach O Shea – Killorglin CC

Under 16

  1. Cian Smails – Tralee Manor West
  2. Eoin Blake – Killarney CC
  3. David Fitzgerald – Tralee Manor West
  4. Jack Deering – Kingdom CC
  5. Paul Buckely – Kingdom CC
  6. Killian O Sullivan – Kingdom CC


  1. George Doyle – Moda
  2. John Brosnan – Moda
  3. Matt Slattery – Strata3/Velorev
  4. Mark Houlihan – Moda
  5. Conor Kissane – Killarney CC
  6. Edward Casey – Killorglin CC

County League Currow CC

Well done to everyone who helped in making a great nights racing in Currow tonight. The League prizes will be given out after the County Championships which are being hosted by Sliabh Luachra CC. There are prizes for all regular underage participants and the top 8 seniors. Again thanks to all riders, drivers, stewards and results crew tonight on what was a fitting finale for a great series.

Kerry County League 2015

The last Round of the Kerry County League Cycling is on in Currow on Thursday night next (August 6th). Sign on is from 6.30 to 7pm at the hall with the first race starting at 7.15 sharp. The circuit is the same as the underage at the Drumm Cup races (Lisheenbawn/Laharn). The order of the groups starting is CC/A4, A3, A1/2 (all 6 laps), U16 (4 laps) , U14 (3 laps) and finally U12 (1 lap). There is no parking on the circuit except for the parking spaces at the finish line that are for the lead cars only so please cooperate with this request on safety grounds as the marshalls that volunteer their time have enough to deal with non-race traffic. Stewards please assemble in Currow at 6.45pm and all help is welcome (from other clubs also) bearing in mind we have 6 groups on the road on the first circuit. See you all Thursday night for what will hopefully be a fitting finale for what has been a well promoted and exciting series

Currow Leisure Tour

The annual leisure tour will take place on June 14th at 9.30am from Currow Hall. Distances are 100km and 60km. Entry fee is 20 euro. Refreshments provided as usual. Join us for what is always a popular event and great preparation for the Ring of Kerry Cycle. Sign on at the hall on the morning of the event – see you there!

Drumm Cup 2015

50th Annual John Drumm Memorial Cup in Currow April 26th 2015
 Sign on opens for all Categories at 10am
Underage racing starting at 11am and the Senior events at 1pm
Underage circuit is the one used last year and in the County League –
Senior Circuit is the same as previous years
Race HQ and Start is the Currow Hall with the finish being approx 800m on the Castleisland side of the circuit
The Full Programme
11am Under 16 – 45.5 km (7 x 6.5km circuit) Prizes first 10 with first unplaced under 15 and first unplaced girl
11.01am Under 14 – 26 km (4 x 6.5km circuit) Prizes first 6 with first unplaced under 13 and first unplaced girl
11.02am Under 12 – 6 km (2 x 6.5km circuit) Prizes first 6 with first unplaced under 11 and first unplaced girl
Sign On Closes at 12.30pm and managers meeting / car draw at 12.30pm
1pm A1/A2 Feature Event start – 108.5km – Almost 7 laps – 6 to go at the first crossing of the finish line
Prime first time around. Prizes first 10 and first 3 unplaced A2s
1.02pm A3 Race – 77.5km – Almost 5 laps – 4 to go at the first crossing of the finish line
Prime first time around. Prizes first 15
1.04pm A4 Race – 62km – Almost 4 laps – 3 to go at the first crossing of the finish line
Prime first time around. Prizes for first 15
Note The A4 race is going to be a handicap race as follows (only 1 prize list with unplaced ladies prizes);
  • Ladies and Over 50 A4 Riders
  • Veteran A4 Riders
  • Remainder of A4 Riders
This handicap will be in the region of 45 secs to 60 secs depending on the size of each group