Niall Brosnan Kerry Cycling Champion 2010

The new Kerry Cycling champion is Niall Brosnan, a Tralee man cycling in the colours of the Edge Cycling Team. He won a top class race on Saturday with a solo break away halfway through the race to come home a very worthy victor leaving the main bunch 2 mins in his wake. He joins great men like the Iron Man Mick Murphy, Gene Mangan, John Mangan and John Blackwell as the Kerry Champion.

He made the course look easy with his fast pedalling style and believe me it wasnt, as the drag turned into a hill by at least the third of ten circuits which made the bunch suffer as the intensity of the chase increased in the final third of the race. The bunch was led in by Maurice Lawlor again a Tralee man in the colours of St Finbarrs CC who just held off the fast finishing surprise packet of the race Donnacha Galvin from Kerrys biggest cycling club, the Chaingang. Maurice and Donnacha had the consolation of winning their categories A3 and A4 respectively. Patrick Crean from the Earl of Desmond CC ended up second A3 with Peter White from Killorglin Credit Union CC filling up the places in a very competitive category. Colm Mannix and Sean McCarron both from the Earl of Desmond were second and third A4s with Sean also bagging the first veteran over 40 prize. Tom Daly won the Over 50 prize with Pete Landy Tralee Lee Strand winning the over 60 prize. A remarkable fact about Pete is that the last time he raced the course was none other than 1972! The youth did very well against their experienced competitors. Sean williams won the Junior Category from Sam Breen. The new Under 16 champion is Dylan Foley beating Ciaran Moss. Aileen Cliford from the Chain Gang beat club mate Jennifer Crowley into second for the ladies title and possibly the first ladies title in the county. The tightly contested team prize went to the Earl of Desmond with Killorglin second. The host club took bronze in what is their first ever team prize and first silverware for many a year. All in all a great race was held and a very special word of thanks must go to the people of Cordal who embraced the championships, helped in every way possible and this is a view echoed by the cyclists who appreciate the saftey factor of having traffic cooperating and keeping dogs off of the road. Cordal also provided their first class community centre and facilities for the race which we are very grateful for.

All in all the cyclists proved that the Kingdom is still near the top of Irish cycling with an excellent and very entertaining promotion.

Pictures available at the following link.

Full Results
Men Overall

1. Niall Brosnan The Edge
2. Maurice Lawlor St Finbarrs
3. Donnacha Galvin Chaingang


1. Maurice Lawlor St Finbarrs
2. Patrick Crean Earl of Desmond
3. Peter White Killorglin


1. Donnacha Galvin Chaingang
2. Colm Mannix Earl of Desmond
3. Sean McCarron Earl of Desmond


1. Sean Williams Chaingang
2. Sam Breen Earl of Desmond


1. Dylan Foley Carrraigdoun
2. Ciaran Moss Chaingang


1. Aileen clifford Chaingang
2. Jennifer Crowley Chaingang

Over 40

1. Sean McCarron Earl of Desmond
2. Mike Leahy Earl of Desmond
3. Peter White Killorglin

Over 50

1. Tom Daly
2. John Barrett
3. Mike Breen Killorglin

Over 60

1. Pete Landy Tralee Lee Strand

Team Prize

1. Earl of Desmond
2. Killorglin
3. Currow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: