45th annual John Drumm Cup

160 riders across all the categories went to the line in Currow over the weekend. The Sliabh Luachra 15km began the proceedings on Saturday evening and was won by Kevin Shelley in a time of 20.14. Second was Robin Kelly of the Comeragh club and Third was Laurent Dumolin of Kanturk CC. In total 28 cyclists completed the course.

The main event of the weekend, the John Drumm Cup was dominated by an early break away of 4 riders which consisted of the eventual winner Michael Fitzgerald of the Edge. He worked well with his teammate Brendan Lacey (eventual third) to secure the victory in a jump inside the last 500 metres. Second over the line was Mike Storan of West Clare who gave the race his all. Fourth was Denis Lynch (Kanturk) who tried in vain to get away during the race but did not suceed. Robin Kelly of Comeragh rode strongly all during the race and led in the chasers to claim fifth place ahead of Jarleth Hassett (West Clare), Rory Wyley (Dan Morrissey) and Adrian Gallery (Limerick CC).

The separate A3 race had a breakaway group of six riders who contested the finish with Edmund Barry (Blarney) winning a tight sprint for the line.

The A4 race saw a bunch sprint after all the attacks failed out the road. Here John Brady (Fermoy) had too much power for the fast finishing Kerrymen Darrragh McCarthy (Cycling Pursuits) and Currow native Donnacha Clifford (Chain Gang) in second and third place.

The underage winners were U16 – Francis Sheridan (Covey Wheelers), U14 Shane O’ Hara (Limerick) and U12 Healy (Fermoy)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: