Club Spins

Club Spins will now be Sundays at 10am from Currow Post Office and Wednesday Nights beginning April 2nd at 7pm from McElligotts on Tralee road, Castleisland where lights and reflective jackets are still required. For new or returning members no one will be left behind with the first phase of the spin catering for all abilities and fitness levels.

For membership and licence applications Suzanne O Sullivan will work with any prospective members to get the licences sorted. Suzanne can be contacted at 086 8568051 but it is possible to log onto Cycling Ireland and get your licence through the club by following the steps outlined.

Drumm Cup – Currow April 27th 2014



The 49th Annual John Drumm Cup and supporting races will be the premier Munster event on the calendar on the last weekend of April. Paidi O Brien seen above winning the feature event last year is due back again to defend his title. This prestigious race has had many great competitors over the years and indeed many top class winners one of which was Sam Bennett who is now making a name for himself on the world cycling scene. Other recent winners still doing well and will hopefully be back to have a go at regaining the cup are Mick Fitzgerald and Richard Hooton. Paul Griffin remains the last Kerryman to lift the cup having had a great record in the race.  (all photographed below)



ImageThe day of course is not only about the feature event with many winners of underage events and A3 / A4 races going on to the top level and will be back to try and add the event to their list of achievements.

So we are looking forward to seeing you on the day – all times, prizes and further details will follow on this website

Below are a few photos from the events of past years – some recent and some not so recent



Weekend Update

Well done to Hugh McSweeney and Darragh Looned for battling displays in a tough Lacey Cup today

Also a big thank you to Davis Costello and all that stood for the Church Gate Collections at the weekend

Training Update


Just a reminder to all members and prospective members that the Club Spins are continuing on Sunday Mornings at 10am from Currow Post Office

Also a reminder that the church gate collections in Currow and Currans are on this weekend

Finally the best of luck to all involved in the Lacey cup this Sunday in Tralee


Husband and Wife First and Second !

Well done to Tom and Helen Barrett on their first and second places in the Tralee CC Handicap Christmas Day time trial from Camp to Tralee. Tom takes over the Landy Cup from Hugh McSweeney who along with Pa Breen and Sean Barrett represented the club very well on the day,

Happy New year to all Club members, supporters and helpers.

Killarney CC Event

Burn The Turkey!
Killarney C.C. annual Xmas spin “Burn The Turkey”.will take place on Sunday 29th from An Oige Hostel, Fossa at 11am. Sign on open at ,10am..Reg. fee 15 euro with CI membership, inc soup/roll, tea/biscuits.Two routes. 60k and 40.k. Both groups supported with pace Cars and outriders.40k group will be paced to suit all our leisure and u14 riders.
This is an opportunity for many of you to finish out on a high what has been a fantastic year on the bike with a get together with those who shared the fun and the pain with you.! And to show you appreciation to the club and for all the hard work put in by so many on your behalf.
Also I would like to invite the members of all our neigbouring to come along and join in Nothing like a good slash of colours out on the road!
Hope to see a good turnout there. !

Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides 2013

Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides 2013

Sign-on for both rides will take place at Killorglin Sports and Leisure Complex from 8:45am to 9:45am. Entry fees for the  Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides 2013 are €15 for Cycling Ireland members and €20 for non-members.

Well the new season is starting to kick off and it is wonderful to see loads of cyclists out getting in the base mileage necessary for a happy and successful 2014 cycling season.  The now traditional Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides will take place on Sunday 15th of December. The hamper rides are a little bit of spice in the winter training schedule allowing riders from different clubs to have a bit of socialising but at the same time having a little peek at how their form is before the main training window opens up in January.

The format for the Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides 2013 is similar to previous years with some little amendments to take cognisance of the new Tralee by-pass.  Sign-on for both rides will take place at Killorglin Sports and Leisure Complex from 8:45am to 9:45am. The longer spin will start from Killorglin Sports and Leisure Complex at 10:00am and will take the riders to Killarney, Farranfore and to Farmers Bridge at a carefully controlled speed to keep the group as intact as possible. The anticipated average speed to Farmers Bridge is likely to be about 25km per hour.  At the bottom of the Farmers Bridge climb (175m) the lead cars will pull ahead and the speed restrictions are removed.  From
there you may ride as hard as you like back to the finish line at the Killorglin Sports and Leisure Complex.  .

The short spin is largely flat except for Knockaderry (120m) and follows the long route as far as Farranfore where the route turns left and back for Killorglin. The speed of the short spin will also be regulated at slightly less than 25km per hour until the bottom of the hill out of Milltown when the restrictions will be removed.  You may ride as hard as you like from there back to Killorglin Sports and Leisure Complex.

Showers and  changing facilities will be available at the sports complex.  Hot food and refreshments will be available in Killorglin Community College afterwards to competitors.

The day is designed to be a fun start to the new training season and to be as sociable as possible.  While some riders will be motivated by the competitive juices more will be driven by the desire to make a bit of room for the Christmas excess to come.  To strike a balance between competition and fun the first three riders over the line in the long spin will have first  choice from the selection of hampers and prizes on display.  The first rider home from the short spin will get the next choice and after that there is a raffle on the basis of sign-on numbers to distribute the remaining hampers.

Killorglin  Cycling Club is very grateful to all the business and individuals who kindly and generously support the activities of Killorglin Cycling Club by providing hampers and prizes for the event.

Entry fees for the  Killorglin Cycling Club Christmas Hamper Rides 2013 are €15 for Cycling Ireland members and €20 for non-members.

Please note the  hamper ride is not a race.  It is not run as a race or managed as a race.  There are no marshals at any junction.  You are required to ride according to the rules of the road and to obey stop signs and yield right of way signs.  You are responsible for your own safety.  The route  will be signed and route maps will be posted at the sign-on venue.   A broom wagon will follow the riders. Long  Route – 70km  Killorglin, Killarney, Farranfore, Tralee Bypass Road, Farmers Bridge, Sleibh Mish,  Castlemaine, Milltown, Killorglin

Killorglin Cycling Club 55km Christmas Hamper Ride Short Route – 53km  Killorglin, Killarney, Farranfore, Castlemaine, Milltown, Killorglin


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.